

# Noorumeni Nandhi

നുറുമേനി നന്ദി

Prof. M. S. Swaminathan Centenary Celebrations: Commemorating his contributions to Kuttanad and GIAHS







THURSDAY

23 JANUARY 04:00 PM TO 07:00 PM

M.S. Swaminathan Rice Research Station Moncompu, Alappuzha, Kerala









# **PROGRAMME**

## 4:00 PM - 4:15 PM : Registration & Tea

4:15 PM – 4:20 PM	Welcome Address Dr G N Hariharan Executive Director, R&D, Policy and Govt Affairs, MSSRF
4:20 PM - 4:30 PM	Kuttanad: A Living Heritage Landscape – "Noorumeni Nandhi" Setting the Stage Mr Prajeesh Parameswaran,MSSRF
4:30 PM - 4:35 PM	Inauguration Shri. Kodikkunnil Suresh MP Mavelikkara Lok Sabha
4:35 PM - 5:30 PM	Felicitations 4:35 PM to 4:40PM Dr M. Surendran Professor & Head, Rice Research Station, Mancombu
	4:40 PM to 4:45 PM Dr. Grinson George, Director, Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute (ICAR), Kochi

Join us as we celebrate the centenary year of the visionary agricultural scientist, Dr. M S Swaminathan, whose pioneering contributions brought attention to Kuttanad and elevated it to a Globally Important Agricultural Heritage System (GIAHS). Dr. Swaminathan designed the Kuttanad Package, a wetland development project to restore the region's ecology and improve the lives of the people by designing ecological sustainable solutions

4:45 PM to 4:50 PM Dr K G Padmakumar

Farming, Kuttanad

This event honours his legacy and explores pathways for sustainable agriculture and development in the region.

# HIGHLIGHTS:



Director, International Research and Training Centre for Below Sea Level

Insights into Dr. Swaminathan's work



Expert presentations and discussions



Felicitations by eminent dignitaries



Handing over of the prestigious GIAHS certificate

#### 4:50 PM to 4:55 PM

Shri. George Mathew Vacha Integrated Farmer, Pulinkunnu, Kuttanad

#### 4:55 PM to 5:00 PM

Smt. Pushpamma V S

Progressive Women Farmer, Edayazham, Kuttanad

#### 5:00 PM to 5:10 PM

Mr Nandakumar, IAS (Retd)

Former Secretary of Food & Agriculture, Govt of India

#### 5:10 PM to 5:20 PM

Dr S. Bala Ravi

Assistant Director General (Rtd), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Former Staff, MSSRF

#### 5:20 PM to 5:25 PM

Shri. P. K. Hormis Tharakan

(IPS Retd) Former Chief RAW, Govt of India Pokkali Farmer, Ezhupunna, Alappuzha

#### 5:25 PM to 5:30 PM

Dr Sabu Abdul Hameed

Member Secretary, Kerala State Council for Science Technology and Environment, Govt. of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram

## 5:30 PM -5:40 PM

## **Brand Launch**

5:30 PM to 5:40 PM

"KERA SARAS"

MSSRF – SAARC Programme - Coconut Value Chain from Kuttanad About the Brand:

Mr. Jibin Thomas, MSSRF

Shri. Alex Varghese IAS, District Collector, Alappuzha

#### Receiving the brand Plaque

Shri. Kodikkunnil Suresh MP Mavelikkara Lok Sabha

# 5:40 PM -5:55 PM

Special Address- Professor M. S. Swaminathan and his contributions for Kuttanad and GIAHS (Globally Important Agricultural Heritage System)

5:40 PM to 5:55 PM

Dr N. Anil Kumar

Chairman, Kerala State Biodiversity Board, Thiruvananthapuram Former ED. MSSRF

# 5:55 PM -

6:05 PM

### **Special Address**

6:20 PM to 6:35 PM

Dr Jiju P. Alex

Member, Kerala State Planning Board & Trustee MSSRF

6:05 PM -**Special Address** 6:15 PM 6:05 PM to 6:15 PM Dr B Ashok IAS Principal Secretary and Agricultural Production Commissioner, Govt of Kerala; Vice Chancellor, Kerala Agricultural University 6:15 PM -**Special Address** 6:20 PM 6:15 PM to 6:20 PM Mr Franklin L Khobung IFoS Joint Secretary Department of Agriculture & Farmers' Welfare, Govt of India Professor M. S. Swaminathan's Contributions to strengthening The Kar-6:20 PM shakashree and strengthening the Kerala farmers 6:30 PM 6:20 PM to 6:30 PM Shri, Jacob Mathew Managing Editor, Malayala Manorama Group of Publications, Kottayam 6:30 PM -6:30 PM to 6:40 PM 6:40 PM Dr Soumva Swaminathan Chairperson, MSSRF and Principal Advisor for the National Tuberculosis Elimination Program, Govt of India **Handing over of GIAHS Certificate** To Hon. Minister for Agriculture Shri. P. Prasad by Dr Soumya Swaminathan, Chairperson MSSRF 6:40 PM -Address by the Chief Guest 6:55 PM 6:40 PM to 6:55 PM Shri P. Prasad

Hon. Minister for Agriculture, Government of Kerala

6:55 PM 7:00 PM

Vote of Thanks
6:55 PM to 7:00 PM
Dr V. Shakeela
Director, MSSRF- CAbC, Wayanad

